People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

human society as well as human nature both are very complex topic to talk about and they both are interelated to one another. having said this I mostly agree with the prompt that people's attitudes are mostly determined by their situations rather than a society in which they live. The reasons to espouse this position are given below.

To begin with, all we have in life is present time in life. our society, past and future may impact us but all we have is the present moment. so, most people tend to perform according to their present situations. if human beings had not performed according to the their present needs then still today we would be living in a cave. it is because human beings saw the need to evolve above the present situations and according to their need they performed. so today we are living in age of technology.

Furthur, human being are creative and conscious creaturer, who are able to decide for themselve what is write and what is wrong. today most people are educated and more equipe with facilities, that they are vividly able to think consciously rather than listening this or that from the society. For instance, autocrats ruled the world where people followed thier commands willing or unwillingly, this autocracy lead to the world war. As human are wise beings they saw the need to form UN, to maintain in the peace in the world. Similarly in our country most youth used to study engineering or doctors but with the process of globalization, young are able to see other opportunities to make their career in other fields as well rather than holding onto the presitigious degree of engineering or doctor as assumed by the society.

However, we can not deny the fact that our society influnce us. Knowingly or unknowingly. so we even consider what people in the society think if we take the action or do certain things. These questions comes to most human beings. For example, in our community people go abroad to earn money for whatever reasons. mostly man do the income and women is invovled in household. For womens who want to go abroad to earn money. they have to think twice and thrice as society looks down upon those women. so most women abstain themselves form going abroad. Cultural and social impression on people can not be abstain. it seems to impact directly or indirectly.

To sum up, as expalined above, people are wise and conscious beings that are able to decide right and wrong so they tend to make decision based on their current situations, however society also has a great impression in people.