"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that manufacturing process of socks are a waste of money and new socks called Dura-socks with high quality and durability and different colors could make a hoard of money and be profitable for their future markets. However, the premises upon which he/she puts his/her claim are fallacious.

First, the author contends that according to a research of costumers invest money on endure manufacturing process is a waste of money owing to the fact that these socks endure at least for two years. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since the author just mentioned that these socks are durable. Indeed, there is a possibility that individuals are not satisfied with the quality of these socks and they prefer to put on other socks from other manufacturers. It is also important to say that maybe this manufacturing process could not attract people's taste owing to the fact that it just produces only one kind. Indeed, production of various kinds with high durability and quality could bring a substantial amount of money for the market.

The author also points out that based on a study, costumers purchase new Dura socks every three months despite good durability. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author mentioned the new socks are durable but people buy them every three months. In fact, there is contradict here and if these socks are durable, why people make purchases of these kinds every three months? As a matter of fact, the author does not show whether people are satisfied with the quality or not and indeed, there is a possibility that company produces these socks with lower quality in order to make a good profit. What if people prefer to put on those old socks? Alongside that, maybe people are thinking that these Dura socks are produced with the same condition and quality as old ones produced.

Finally, as set forth by the author based on a survey, costumers in northeastern cities prefer Dura socks with different appearances and colors. Nonetheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing the fact that this survey is done just in a particular part of United States. Indeed, there is no guarantee that other people from different countries make a purchase of these Dura socks. Moreover, the author does not mention the number of costumes, which are interested in these socks. Perhaps a few people prefer to put on Dura socks with different colors and appearances.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that the author has ignored the number of assumption the presence of which could strengthen the author's claim.