"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

From a recent survey of the customers of the company which manufactures socks, it is proposed that the company should discontinue their patented endure manufacturing process to increase the profits. This is based on the understanding from the survey that customer of their largest market values colors and availability of the sock the most. But there are few questions which need to be answered before such a proposal can be accepted.

Firstly, the company is considering the results from only its largest market which is northeastern United States cities while the company might have missed the bigger picture as it may be have a significant global footprint in the market of sock, where the customers may actually prefer the company sock for its durability. Thus, they might have missed out on the feedback and reviews from the global market which can impact the company's overall profit. If this is considered true, then the companies survey results are misleading and may not fetch profit to the company by discarding the endure manufacture process.

Secondly, the company is under the assumption that customers most value their socks for their availability and color, while the customer might have considered durability of the company sock as the basic feature and thus, didn't mention it in the survey. If this is true, then discarding the endure manufacture process will lead to more loss then profit for the company.

Lastly, company has missed out one question from the survey which is why customers love their socks over other company socks. What makes the socks of the company stand out when compared to its competitors. They are concerned more about what customers value more in their socks and not why they prefer their socks over other companies’ socks. If above question is also included in the survey, then it may change the view of the company over endure manufacture process.

Considering all the above questions, it can be concluded that the above proposal is flawed, and it cannot be accepted to discard the endure manufacturing process to increase the profits of the company.