"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it seem that Dura-Socks will increase profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufactring process, but there is lot of weakness in the argument.

It is stated that average customer of Dura-socks purchases new dura socks every three months, but there is no information about new customers. Average customers using Dura-socks for some time does not get affected by advertisements or does not botther about advertisements.

Moreover, new customers may get attracted by the Endurance of the socks,as there is no other socks company which offers two years durability ,which increases the number of customers. After the arrival of new strong socks by dura-socks,in last few yesars, number of new customers are increasing rapidly.

Furthermore, survey authenticity is never mentioned. Who had taked the survey, how many people took the survey. It is writen that customers surveyed says that they most value Dur-socks stylish appearance and availability in many colors, there is no mention about its durabilty. Maybe suveyor only asked about appearance and colors, and did not ask about durability. Cora-socks that are similar in appearance like Dura-socks and available in more colors but they did not last very long has much fewer customers.