A recent study shows that people living on the continent of North America suffer 9 times more chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of Asia. Interestingly, Asians, on average, eat 20 grams of soy per day, whereas North Americans eat virtually none. It turns out that soy contains phytochemicals called Isoflavones, which have been found to possess disease-preventing properties. Thus, North Americans should consider eating soy on a regular basis as a way of preventing fatigue and depression.

The author of the argument has cited that people living on North America suffer 9 times more chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of Asia, soy consumption must be the reason behind it. The argument might appear logical and convincing at first glance. However, a more critical analysis of the justification supplied by the author highlighted many queries. Therefore, the premises in their current form are not cogent and the argument is prevalent with unwarranted assumptions that are susceptible for attacks.

First and foremost, there may be plethora of complicated reasons behind chronic depression like over thinking, not sufficient sleep and excessive work pressure, moreover physical and mental fitness is also crucial to avoid depression. Hence, soy consumption cannot be the only reason behind this chronic depression. For instance, my friend Roy was healthy and had no symptoms of depression, after few days his grandfather passed away, he did not speak to any one for months and due to the accumulation of negative emotions, he went into depression.

Secondly, soy may contain isoflavone, that can help in preventing diseases. However, author has ignored that diseases can also be genetic or hereditary, if fatigue is genetic in North Americans, then there won't be any significant effect even after consuming soy daily.

Thirdly, dietary plan of North Americans is not presented, there may be other food items that North American consume that have similar effect as soy. For example, North Americans frequently consume ginger that has antibodies that can prevent disease. Moreover, they consume meat and green vegetables which can help in curbing fatigue.

Lastly, Argument is not cogent about the age group of people that are suffering from chronic fatigue. If Americans have developed fatigue only for a selected age group like late twenties, there may be other reasons like people eat less due to heavy work load and they don't have sufficient time to spend with their loved ones could be the cause for depression

To sum up, the authors assumptions are based on unsubstantiated presumptions. The author should have reinforced his argument with auxiliary evidence to make the case more convincing. Therefore, writer failed to address these issues that chronic depression is a complicated condition, consumption of soy cannot be the sole reason for curbing it, the dietary plan of Americans is not mentioned and which age group is significantly affected by fatigue and depression is not cogent. Hence, leaving argument indefensible.