The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument states that Over the past year, the increment in complaints received from the viewers and cancellation of contracts from advertising companies has happened since, there was reduction in amount of time allotted to local and weather news. The argument might appear logical and convincing at first glance. However, a detailed analysis of the justification supplied of author has highlighted many queries. Therefore, premises in their current form is not cogent and the argument is prevalent with unwarranted assumption that are susceptible for attacks.

To begin with, There are many numerous reasons behind the cancellation of contract by advertising companies like, people must have changed their interest from news to daily soap or sports. Advertising companies need TV shows which have more fan base, they need maximum number of people to watch their advertisements.

Secondly, It is not clear that the complains received could represent all the people in the town. Moreover, the complaint can be done by single person many times. Since there was no reply from the company. For instance, the survey done happen on mostly on a small group of people, that does not accurately represent the public requirements.

Lastly, the reason that the time allotted for local news and weather must be restored is not cogent. Since, the people might find the way in which the news not attractive. For example, the content that is covered in national news is not lucrative or the person who is reading the national news might not be as affluent as the local news. Therefore, rather changing the schedule we need to fix other problems which are significant.

To sum up, the author's argument is based on unsubstantiated presumptions. The author should have reinforced his argument with more evidence to make the case more convincing. However, the author failed to examine these issues like people must have changed their interest from news to daily soap or sports and It is not clear that the complains received could represent all the people. rather than changing the schedule we need to fix other problems which are significant like making the national news more luring. There by rendering the argument indefensible.