“In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an

internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40

percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs,

located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a

number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is

sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible

working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design

business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of

Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in

a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art

students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation.”

In this letter, written by an alumni of Linford College to the chair of the art department, the writer recommends that all art students should be required to complete internships at Skyview Designs, a company in nearby Linford City. While at first glance this recommendation appears worthwhile, it operates on multiple assumptions, that if not sustained with more information, would significantly weaken the idea.

First of all, the writer assumes Skyview Designs is perfect because of their department flexibility. The author says that Skyview Designs offers internships in all of its departments, so that would work for every student. However, the writer does not say what the departments are. For example, if an art student focuses on sculpture and Skyview Designs does not have a sculpture department, then that would not likely work. From the name of the company, one gathers that it may be focused on graphic design, and not painting or sculpture, which would indicate it would not work for every student.

Second of all, the letter to the art chair, claims, with weak evidence, that Skyview Designs is the best in the business. It says that 80 percent of Linford City's businesses use it for their design needs. While this number is impressive at first glance, the writer does not offer further proof. For example, if Linford City is very small, then the number of businesses using Skyview Designs would be small. While Skyview Designs holds the overall business of Linford City, no information is given to the use of the company by other nearby towns.

Finally, there is an assumption is the argument the letter is founded on. Little is known about the survey of recent college graduates. The writer does not indicate if a reputable group did the survey, how many participated, or how many art students participated. It could have been mainly business students who responded to the survey and what is true for them, may not be true for art students. The writer also does not indicate the current placement of Linford College art graduates - perhaps they are successful in finding jobs or perhaps they are failing. This data is not provided.

In conclusion, it is possible that an internship will aid a students post-graduation success and it is also possible Skyview Designs may be a good fit for students. However, it is impossible to know without more concrete evidence. The argument presented is potentially specious. In order to improve it the writer should provide more substantial information on three fronts: one, more details on Skyview Design, two, better data on it's customer base, and three, add specifics on the survey mentioned. With these particulars, the argument could be convincing.