Some people believe that success in creative fields, such as painting, fiction writing, and

filmmaking, primarily requires hard work and perseverance. Others believe that such

success mainly requires innate talents that cannot be learned.

The romanticized life of a creative, such as a painter or writer, often includes a figure whose talent is innate. The imagined artist writes or paints when the inspiration strikes and from that inspiration easily comes art. Editing, repainting, and planning does not factor into this vision. This often leaves people thinking that one can not learn creativity -- it comes from within and if you are not easily struck by creative ideas, then you can not become an author, painter, or filmmaker. However, this view is unrealistic. Most people, even the most talented, must apply themselves and diligently work to complete their project.

For one thing, even a writer that is born with a strong imagination, still needs to set aside time to write. They have to sit down in front of their notebook or computer and write out the words that their imagination is producing. This talent may seem innate, but often what falls on to the page will need editing and revising. Most books we read are not untouched words by the author - there have been peer readers and editors that have helped revise anything from sentence structure to plot holes. Some of these authors may have been rejected early on in their career, based on their writing abilities, however they likely took classes or joined writing groups. Through feedback they received, they improved.

Many universities offer classes in the creative arts and there is a reason for that. Some may find themselves a hopeless painter, but find that after a class, they actually are able to master watercolors. There are entire educational institutions dedicated to art, such as the Sotheby's Institute of Art or the Courtauld Institute. While one must likely produce some decent work to apply, the institutes accept an individual to train them to be good artists. One example of an artist who learned via hard work is Henri Rousseau , a French painter. He was self-taught and did not learn until he was in his 40s. He worked as a clerk and would use his spare time to sketch paintings in the Louvre. Yet despite his late start, through tenacity he became a talented and admired painter.

That being said, the idea that success requires innate talent is not without merit. Many people are born with a vivid imagination or a talent for painting. This likely makes their path into the arts easier, since they already have an ability to create. Yet, even then they must apply hard work and perseverance. The author Louisa May Alcott would write for up to fourteen hours a time, yet she also held that one must rest fully at night so the brain could be awake to write in the morning. Similar to any job, she believed in working all day and being well rested.

In conclusion, hard work and perseverance is essential to the success of a creative person. Someone not born with talent can learn the creative arts through diligence and one who is born with talent still needs to work hard in order to produce materials and sell them. Even with great talent, if one does not do the hard work of painting or writing regularly, that talent will not be transferred to paper.