“In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an

internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40

percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs,

located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a

number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is

sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible

working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design

business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of

Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in

a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art

students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation.”

Linford is considering forcing any art student who wishes to graduate to do an internship with Skyway Design. Ignoring the ethical consideration this arguement is flawed on a multitude of reasons. The univsity is making a dirge of assumptions and cherry picking stats.

Firstly, according to a survey of college grads 90% found having an internship helpful. They fail to consider a plethera of variables about this survey:

How many students responded?

What did they major?

Did they have an internship?

Did they get a job in a field they want?

Addressing these in order, it fails to say how many students responded to the survey. There is a wide margin, was it 50 or 5000 students who responded to this? We need to know if there is a statistically significant response rate before the board considers using this survey. Next, the university needs to find out what respondants majored in when they studied. If for instance, they were all engineering majors it possibly wouldn't reflect how well internships would be for art students. Continuing on they never say if they had an internship or if that was actually the deciding factor of them getting employment. Following up, if they did get a job is it in the field they studied and or interned in. If Jane studied biology and is now an accountant it is perhaps not the best to site this survey as this wouldn't be something that all would enjoy

The university is saying that Skyward Designs they have internship is all their avaliable departments for art students so they theoretically should be able to get one they enjoy. This fails to consider if there is an equal number of positions that students want to the number of students. If there are 25 positions for graphic designers and there are 100 students that need an internship, what happens to the unlucky 75 students who didn't get their desired trade. The potential for frictional interships is ripe. They claim that Skyward would offer flexible hours, but fail to stat how flexible they would be. A student may have a summer off for an internship and Skyward is only offering internships during the calendar year.

Skyward Design is reputed to be one of the best companies in the area, however even this is riddled with flaws. They fail to address the size of Linford City, it could be that Skyward is perhaps the only real design company in the town. They also fail to compare Skywrad Design on a larger scale, say in a metro or statewide scale compare them to their competitors. The university also fails to take into account what if a students find a better opportunity, say working on Broadway or the Guggenheim. Lastly, the university is forgetting non traditional students or students who are already work. It would be unreasonable to expect a 40 year old who already has industry experience, to essentially slum it and do an internship for a few months to graduate. It would also be entirely unfair to force a student who is already working, possibly already in their field, to give that up in order to do an intership they may not want.

Linford university needs to consider a multitude of factors before they consider mandating all art students take interships with Skyward. They need to produce more justifcation then just a survey of old students. They would need to work with Skyward Design to ensure that they have enough quality interships for all who need them. Finally, they need to consider if it the right move for the university.