Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Sound moral judgement, while it is a desirable trait it is not the most desirable, the ability to maintain respect of one's peers is more important. This has been proven time and again throughout history.

Being a leader by definition requires a certain amount of respect. If one loses that respect they will swiftly find themselves out of a leadership role.

The ability to maintain friends and allies domestically and abroad is one of the keys to maintaining stability for a leader and furthering their goals. There are schools of political thought that follow this, chief among these Realpolitik. This philosophy would state that morality is relative and that having friends and allies is a real world benefit that would make one a more effective leader. While a very Machiavellian outlook on the world, it has none the less been proven time and time again to be effective.

A leader's ability to command respect is paramount in their ability to lead. Firstly, for if a leader is constantly disrespected and challenged, they will have to constantly be worried about coups, challenges to authority, and insubordination rather carry out whatever task they are leading to. A real historical example, would be Julius Caesar who commanded fanatical respect from his legions and friends in the Senate. They were so devoted to him that they followed him into an illegal are in modern-day France and across the Rubicon to march on Rome itself.

However, there are arguments against this however. If moral judgment is directly tied to one's respect, it would behoove them to follow their moral compass. For instance, if they are a directly elected leader or the head of a small community. One shouldn't sacrifice everything try to please everyone. Constantly going against one's moral compass, it could be argued, in the long run could harm one's respect as they would begin to seem untrustworthy.

The ability to command respect among one's peers is one of the most necessary and important traits a leader can have. While morality certainly has its place, it isn't central to being a leader. A leader without respect is no leader at all.