A recently issued twenty year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin a medicine used to treat headaches Al

At first glance, it may seem logical to agree with the author's argument that the consumption of salicylates will reduce the amount of headaches seen in the residents of Menticia. The evidence presented is it in the same chemical family as aspirin and the correlation between commercial use of this chemical and steady decline of headaches reported by participants in a twenty year old study. There are many flaws in this argument; therefore, I will discuss what questions need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument of which it's based on are reasonable.

Firstly, just because chemicals are within the same family doesn't mean that they will have the same effect if consumed in proper dosages. Although aspirin is very effective at treating headaches, we have don't have any actual scientific data to suggest that salicylates will have the same effect as this commonly used over-the-counter medication. Until the scientific literature supports the notion that this chemically similar compound produces similar results, we cannot make assumptions on its' effectiveness.

Secondly, correlation does not equal causation. There can be many other factors that contributed to the participants of the study experiencing a decline in the average number of headaches reported. We have no way of knowing if the amount of caffeine the participants consumed was reduced or if the people of Mentia who participated averaged more hours of sleep per night than prior to the study. Without randomized, double-blind placebo control trials, we cannot conclude that this effect is due the consumption of salicycates.

Thirdly, mentioning that 'some health experts' predict that Menticia's residents will have a decline the the amount of headaches experienced does not provide specific evidence as to who these health experts are and what their credentials are. If these so-called 'health experts' are hollistic doctors who have drawn this conclusion based on anecdotal evidence with the patients they've worked with, we would only have very-low levels of confidence that the successes were due to these chemicals. Thus, it is imperative that we only draw conclusions about the effectiveness of salicylates from the results of randomized control trials.

In summary, many holes exist within this argument and for the reasons that I have thoroughly discussed above the three questions that need to be answered: does being within the same chemical family mean that they will have similar effects, does the correlation of decline in headaches seen and consumption of salicylates equal causation, and who are these 'health experts' that the author points to as people of authority. There may be some validity to the claims this author makes; however, more specific evidence is needed in order to provide proof to back up these claims.