In most professions and academic fields imagination is more important than knowledge Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be sure to address the most comp

Knowledge is power and is the driving force of success in most careers. The prompt urges that imagination is more important than knowledge in most professions and academic fields. I mostly disagree with this claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my position.

To begin with, imagination is useless in many jobs. For example, an accountant does not need to use their imagination to perform the job well and neither will it be useful at all. It is important to know how to help others file personal and business taxes, which doesn't require any creativity. This is imperative because this is one of the many careers where knowledge will always be more important than imagination.

In addition, aside from professions, an academic field that also doesn't require any type of creative thinking is mathematics. In math, there is always one one correct answer. There may be different ways to come about the same solution, however the end result will always be the same. We cannot imagine different or new ways to solve these problems; therefore, this field of study is one of the many examples of how knowledge is important and imagination is obsolete.

On the other hand, in contrast to my stance, this claim holds true for both professions in the arts. For an artist, being able to get the creative juices flowing on a canvas will always be more important than having knowledge. However, this claim doesn't hold true in a multitude of professions that mostly require crunching numbers. Thus, knowing how to perform the job's duties efficiently will always be more important than imagination.

Nevertheless, although it is true that an imaginative approach can lead to new ways in which things are done, for the reasons that I have explained above knowledge will always trump imagination for most professions and academic fields.