Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and s

The prompt suggests that understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership. I mostly disagree with the claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my stance.

Firstly, understanding the past is crucial for leaders holding current positions of leadership in order to prevent history from repeating itself. For example, it is important for a leader to know the history of Hitler and the holocaust. In order to prevent this catastrauphic event from happening once again, it is important to know how the situation was solved. Leaders of today's world must know how the commanders before them came out on the winning side in order to know how to prepare for similar events that may occur in the future.

Secondly, aside from having knowledge about how our previous commander in cheif was able to stop Hitler, it is also important to know the reprocussions that our past leader left on Japan after dropping nuculear bombs. This may have ended tensions between the United States and Japan; however, this left a lasting peril on Japan's civilians for years afterwards. A study from Yale University showed that radiation was detectable on Japan for 5 years after the bombing. Our current leaders must know how destructive and inhumane this war tactic was on the innocent people of Japan in order to prevent this from occuring again.

Although, in contrast to my stance, it is true that those holding current positions of leadership don't have to deal with the same issues that occured in the past. However, history tends to repeat itself. In the past, Mongolia tried to take over the world using brute force with the military. An example seen in today's world is China's attempt to spread globalism by taking over neighboring countries that have fallen into an irrepayable debt. Thus, the necessary precautions must be taken to prevent leaders from trying to take over the globe from ever happening again.

In summary, although it is true that the leaders of today aren't facing the same issues that our commanders in the past had to deal with, knowledge of the past is paramount to prevent these horrible events from repeating themselves.