Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author states that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. to support this conclusion the author has stated various evidences regarding the baskets and the village Palae. However, the conclusion made by the author suffers from several flaws and is therefore scarcely credible and unconvincing as it stands, albeit it may appear plausible at cursory glance.

To begin with, the author draws conclusion saying recently archaeologists discovered such Plalean baskets in Lithos and thus the baskets are not uniquely Palean. 'Recently' is a vague term used by the author, the author must provide us with more information regarding how recently have archaeologists found the baskets there. It might be possible that one of the villagers visited Palea and buyed the basked and bought the basket in Lithos. Hence the author must provide more information regarding the recent discovery of the basket.

In addition to this, the author mentions there is a very deep and broad brim river near the village Lithos and by this statement he draws out the conclusion that no one would be able to cross the river. Providing no further evidence the author says that there are no boats nearby so there is no case that the villagers would be able to cross the village. There might be some other road which was used by the people living in Lithos to cross the river and get out of the village. The archaeologists might just not know about the hidden road to cross the Brim river. Further investigation is necessary to come to the conclusion that there is no way to cross the river.

Lastly, the author has stated that both of these villages are prehistoric and ancient. Thus there is a possibility that the basket was been brought by some of the tourist who visited Lithos a few months ago. Also, since the villages are prehistoric if there was a basked present there ages ago the basket would by now decomposed in the sand. the author needs to provide more evidences regarding the basket found to be Palean.

In retrospect, the author seems precipitous to jump to the conclusion based on a series of problematic assumptions pertaining the baskets to not be uniquely Palean. To strengthen the argument, further investigation and analysis are needed. If the argument had included given points discussed above it would have been more through and logical.