Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memorandum, the author suggests to allocate a greater share of budget for advertisement. To support this suggestion, the author states, the number of viewers are decreasing over time and hence, advertisement would help to approach more people. However, this suggestion by the author relies on several assumptions and flawed statements. And it seems unwise and unconvincing to me as it stands, albeit it may seem plausible at cursory glance.

To begin with, the author states that fewer people are attending Super Screen-produced movies, Of which most of them are giving positive reviews. This means that, the people who are interested in Super Screen-produced movies are watching it. Which also implies that there are only a few fans of these movies. Whereas the author assumes that the reason behind the decrease in viewers is due to lack of publicity. The author in this a case must first survey the people and get the actual data of what are the actual statistics of people interested in the movies.

In addition to this, the author assumes that the contents of the reviewers are not reaching enough viewers. The author further gives no evidence to support this claim made by him. The author should provide actual data and numbers related to the claim. There is a possibility that the prospective viewers are getting enough good reviews, but, are not really interested in the content made by the company.

Lastly, the author says, the problem lies with the publics lack of awareness that good quality movies are available. Here, the author fails to provide data related to the quality of the content provided by the company. Is the content really of good quality? For example, some content which might be liked by my friend, would not necessarily be of my liking. The phrase 'good quality' is subjective. Something approved by some person might just not be approved by me, as every human being has their own views and perspectives.

To conclude, the author seems in a hurry to get to the conclusion based on a series of problematic assumptions. To strengthen the argument, more information and investigation is needed. Without having much of evidence related to the assumptions made by the author, it would be unwise to allocate greater budget for advertisement.