Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.

In this memo, the author argues that his food distribution company should return to Buzzoff Pest Control Companey for all pest control services to save money. He asserts that Buzzoff showed lower pest damage than Fly-Away Pest Control Company. Although this argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of solid evidence leads me to question the validity of the argument.

First, the author needs to provide solid evidence on the pest damage of Fly-Away Pest Control Company in last month. He mentioned that it is discovered that over $20,000 worth of food was damaged by pest last month. However, it is plausible that there was unpredictable accident in last month. The guard of the warehouse might not check the door, so many insects would enter the food warehouse. The results of last month could be an aberrant case. Moreover, it is likely that over $20,000 worth of food is not significant compared to the amount of total worth of stored food. If Fly-Away managed substantial amount of food, $20,000 worth of food would be negligible.

Second, the author needs to supplement the argument with the concrete evidence on the pest damage of Wintervale warehouse managed by Buzzoff Pest Control Company. He compared two pest control companies, Fly-Away and Buzzoff, and Buzzoff showed food damage of $10,000. However, it is possible that the lower pest damage may not because of good management of Buzzoff, but because of weather in Wintervale. The weather in Wintervale may be too adverse, so insects are hard to be active. Also, the pest damage while one month might not represent the damage during one year. the pest damage can be varied according to seasonal change, and the results of pest damage should be observed in the long term. Thus, the lower pest damage of Buzzoff cannot be the reason why the food distribution company should return to Buzzoff.

Lastly, more specific evidence is needed on the soundness of the argument that the best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff. The author mentioned that the price charged by Fly-Away is significantly lower than Buzzoff. Then, it is likely that the income of Fly-Away’s override the expense plus damaged worth. On the contrary, if the amount of managing food of Buzzoff is minute, the income of Buzzoff’s would be negligible compared to the expenses. Therefore, returning to Buzoff for all pest control services is not the best way to save money in terms of profit.

To sum up, the author needs to provide concrete evidence on the management of two pest control companies. To strengthen the argument, more verified information should be suggested.