Your recent article on corporate downsizing in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time.

In the memo, the author argues that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing is not a serious economic hardship. He provides several pieces of evidence on recent report on the Elthyrian economy and job conditions of currently created. At first glance, this may seem convincing, but the lack of evidence leads me to question its validity.

First, the author needs to provide solid evidence on the Elthyrian economy since 1999. He states that far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated. However, it is plausible that the current economy of Elthyria is adverse, and the total number of created job is still minute. Also, it is likely that the population of Elthyria might have increased. Then, more jobs should be created than before to keep consistent economic state. Therefore, the economy of Elthyria faces severe hardships because of surplus competent workers who have lost jobs.

Second, the author needs to supplement the argument with concrete evidence on competent workers finding adequate jobs and unemployment rate. The author asserts that created job is greater than eliminated job, so workers do not have to worry about finding jobs. However, it is possible that "competent" worker might not obtain created jobs. Since competent worker may want to get higher salaries than novices, it would be harder to obtain jobs. In addition, the lowest level of unemployment rate may not be marginal. Plus, if the actual number of citizen in Elthyria is substantial, the unemployed worker may not be negligible. The competent workers who lost jobs face serious problems.

Lastly, more specific evidence is needed on the soundness of the tendencies of newly created jobs. The "tendency" does not mean actual "record". Therefore, lots of competent workers may not earn above-average salary. Even though newly created jobs pay above-average wages, the average wage might no be significant. If the economy of Elthyria is adverse, most of wages in various area would be minute, and their averaged wage is still negligible. The employment condition of Elthyria is not good.

In brief, the author's claim is unconvincing. To bolster the argument, the author needs to give more verified information of employment condition in Elthyria.