The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

In this society, there are many elements that yield understanding of contemporary culture. Some people think that analyzing the trends of youth is the most effective method to understand contemporary culture. Nevertheless, I believe that analyzing the youth is not the most effective way to understand current culture.

Admittedly, analyzing the youth trends can help to know contemporary cultures. This is because young children tend to adapt new knowledge without any biased sight. Young people have little experience than older people, so they adsorb surrounding environment including contemporary cultures. For example, neologism made by youth can reflect the contemporary culture. As electrical devices and online network have developed, children who are adopted fast to those invention communicate each other using the devices. Then, they created new neologism in their web world to communicate. One of the most important property of the neologism is abbreviated word. This feature is caused by contemporary value, convenience and effectiveness. Since these values reflect the cultures of these days, this neologism was also spred out to older people. Thus, contemporary culture can be investigated by analyzing its youth.

However, examining youth trend may not be the most effective way to understand contemporary cultures. Since the culture created by youth usually change rapidly and disappear well, the deep analyzing of elders is needed to understand culture. To be specific, art movement cannot be constructed and changed by youth. The movement can be generated and developed by elders who are matured in their own professions. For example, Pablo Picasso created and improved Cubism. However, even though he was a genius, he could not create Cubism when he was a child. After he grew up, he can generate Cubism with his solid background on art. In addition, those deep and huge culture trend cannot be generated with only one person. Not only Picasso, but also his colleagues who are famous artists influenced to establish Cubism. Thus, contemporary cultures cannot be characterized by analyzing only youth.

Furthermore, studying youth trend is not the best way, just one way, to study contemporary cultures. There are more effective ways such as investigating successful people. Celebrities who are already succeeded using their experience and ability knows contemporary trend and culture. For instance, Steve Jobs, the past CEO of Apple, knew what people want and influenced. He grasped people’s needs on flip phone and he made smartphone which achieved functional development and trendy design. In addition, based on the deep understanding of contemporary culture, he tried to lead new culture trend for next generation. Later, new devices on Apple becomes new trend, although customers did not like the new one at first. Therefore, by investigating celebrities, contemporary culture can be recognized.

In summary, analyzing youth trend cannot be the most effective method to grasp contemporary culture. In complex society, various factors can influence on the culture.