As a result of numerous consumer complaints of dizziness and nausea, Promofoods requested that eight million cans of tuna be returned for testing last year. Promofoods concluded that the cans did not, after all, contain chemicals that posed a health risk. This conclusion is based on the fact that the chemists from Promofoods tested samples of the recalled cans and found that, of the eight chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find that the three remaining suspected chemicals are naturally found in all other kinds of canned foods.

The author of the argument cited that due to the numerous complaints by the consumers, Promofoods eight million cans tuna be returned and then after the test on these cans revealed that eight of the chemicals that cause nausea and dizziness, five where not present and rest of the three where present in all other kinds of canned foods. The argument might appear logical and convincing at first glance. However, a more critical analysis of justification provided by the author highlight many queries. Therefore, premises in their current form are not cogent and the argument is prevalent with unwarranted assumptions and susceptible for attack.

First and foremost, it is not cogent that the . Stock consumed by consumers and tested by the company was manufactured on same day. For instance, the customers might have consumed the old the stock which was available in the store. But the cans on which the chemical test has been performed might the new stock.

Secondly, the chemical test was conducted by the same company which produces the tuna cans. Employees may be lenient while testing their own cans. The reports provided by them may be manipulated so that, consumers will not blame the company and find some other reason for this problem.

Thirdly, the premise that rest of the chemical is present in all the cans is faulty. As per the fact all the eight chemicals contribute to nausea and dizziness. The amount of the remaining three chemicals present in tuna can is not mentioned. For instance, the rest of the three chemical present in all cans must be less than one percent which is not harmful. However, the chemical content in tuna can may be more than five percent.

Lastly, it is not mentioned that costumers complained regarding tuna fish cans. Since, Promofoods can manufacture other meats items and if the consumers have complained regarding the red meat supplied by the company and the test is conducted on tuna fish can then it is not convincing.

To sum up, the authors conclusion is based on unsubstantiated presumptions. The writer should provided additional evidence to reinforce his argument. However, the author failed to examine this issues stock consumed by consumers and tested by the company was manufactured on same day, employees may be lenient while testing their own cans and rendering the argument indefensible.