"Unlike great thinkers and great artists, the most effective political leaders must often yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise."

In this modern era, great thinkers, artists and politicians all are prominent influential personalities. People tend to look up to them. Hence, they all have a crucial role to play. In accordance to the author, thinkers and artists never tend to comprise with their beliefs and this unique ability makes them discrete from other contemporaries. However, politicians have a different scenario, they have to be heedful, consider all the perspectives and choose the most beneficial option. Although, i don't recommend to comprise with their principles since, people have admired and trusted him for his principles.

First and foremost, politician should never abandon his principles for his benefit. There are many politicians who believed in their morals and stood by it irrespective of their ramifications. However, it may seem easy but, it takes lot of perseverance and lots of sacrifices are to be given. For instance, Gandhi was known for nonviolence and peace. When India was in severe pain and agony. There was situation where many other famous leaders have tried to convince him to abandon his principles and opt for nonviolence, free India as soon as possible. However, Gandhi had different plans, he was adherent to his principles and believed that every citizen should follow peace and nonviolence. Now, India is known for peace.

Secondly, politicians are discrete from artists and thinkers. Since, at times artist tries to be selfish and puts his opinion and principles in front of everything irrespective of whether it harms other feelings. However, politician has to be selfless and shrewd at the same time. To cite an example, Artist at times had choose to make plot of their movie on the sensitive issues which could hurt millions of feelings, just to lure the attention of public and to get as much as money as possible.

Lastly, when a adverse situation politician has numerous suggestion to choose from. Nevertheless, best politician is person ignores his personal interest and selects option that is beneficial for all the citizens. For example, when there was a vacant place in our town council, the leader had to choose between his relative and Rahul who was liked by everyone and was known for his judiciousness. However, the leader chooses Rahul for this place and told he deserved to be in town council.

To sum up, author's opinion about politicians is partially true. Although, he did not give enough evidence for his last premise that politician has to abandon his principles for the sake of compromise. Artists and thinkers give preference to their priorities and personal interest. However, politician has to be impassive and opt something which is benevolent for everyone. Politicians should adhere to their principles and morals, how difficult and tempting the situation may be.