"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The passage shows that based on three reasons, the school should build new dormitories. However, all three of them are lack of evidences.

First of all, the passage says that the enrollment will grow or even double than it used to according to current trends. Nonetheless, we need to know more about what the trends indicate. Did they get the information by surveying new coming students or did they just look at the number of their new students this year? If they just get the conclusion by looking at the number of their new students in recent years, there might be other causes that lead to the result. It is possible that one other school that used to be as good as Buckingham College had some scandals in recent years, so more students tend to come to Buckingham College. However, the other college have solved their problem and hired some world-famous professor so the number of students applying for Buckingham college in the next few years may decrease.

The writer also says that the average rent in the town is getting higher in recent years. There is need for evidence that tells that students who comes to the college can’t afford higher payment. It is likely that Buckingham College is a college know for its fee, and most or even all of the students studying here are rich, they won’t care about the renting fee, what they care more is the facility. Probably because of their needs, the departments in the town upgraded their furniture and add gyms and elevators in it, that is why they are charging more than they used to. On the other side, the dormitory the school is planning on won’t be able to have all the equipment according to the budget.

Last, the writer should provide evidence that tells what characteristic of the school mostly attract students. If students came to the Buckingham College because it is famous for its academic status or that graduating from the college will be easier to find a better paid job, then having a nice looking dormitory or not won’t be the main cause for students to decide whether they will pick Buckingham or not. Moreover, even though the dormitory could be the main reason why students pick Buckingham College, the school should notice that their old-fashion style dormitory may be an advantage rather than a disadvantage. Students may be more willing to live in dormitory that’ve been built for years because they’ve lived in modern building for years and like to live in old buildings.