The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I partially agree with the statement that to solve pollution caused by generated waste is to impose strict limits on the amount that each house can dump. If we look at the bright side of the policy, it will possibly change the habit of how people buy things and throw away them. For example, when each house can only throw a certain amount of trash, instead of buying everything they like, people will start to think about what things do they need when they are shopping because of the new policy. This extra thought will avoid people from buying things they don’t need and will eventually turn into trash.

Moreover, the factories will also start to considerably reduce the number of papers or other materials they spend on the packaging. Since, when people start to take how much trash will the product cost, over-packaging will turn into a disadvantage, the selling number of these over-packaged goods will decrease soar. Besides reducing the waste, the government may also earn some money by feeing those who break the strict limits. The revenue can be used to improve the environment such as cleaning the polluted river or planting more trees on both sides of the roads.

However, the statement also involves some problems that need to be solved. Such as is it fair that the amount of trash each house can throw is the same? What if there are children and elders in the house and they need to use several diapers per day, is it fair to require them to throw an equal amount of trash as a family with only two grown-ups? Instead of imposing same limit on each house, the government should come up with different levels of limits of trash they will require, taking how much adults, children, and elders are there in a house into consideration.

Besides, people may also break the law by throwing trash secretly by themselves, and this may cause even a much more serious environmental problem. For example, people may dump their plastic waste into lakes or oceans, Once the fish in lakes or oceans see the waste, they might think the plastic waste is something they can be fed on. However, after eating the plastic, they can digest or dissolve them, it turns out that lots of fish will die because of the plastic waste.

The best way to solve environmental problems is not limiting how much trash a house can dump but to educate people that it is really important to protect our Earth. Since if every person Earth knows that it is wrong to waste things and gratitude to what they’ve got, there will no longer be waste or things that may harm our mother Earth.