"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument above asserts that Buckingham College should build new dormitories. There are three reasons provided in the passage. College’s enrollment is growing, the rent for apartment has risen, and new dormitories will be attractive to students. However, the three reasons are not strong enough to support the conclusion. In order to strengthen it, more evidence is needed.

First, although there will be more students in the future, but will the number of students keep grow at the current speed for 50 years? If the College don’t decide to enroll more students in the future, or there are not that much students can be enrolled at all, then growing students number in the past will not support the conclusion. Even if the number keep grow, as the passage says, it will take 50 years to double the enrollment. The College needs not to prepare so early for the slow growth of enrollment.

Second, the author asserts students will have trouble to afford off-campus housing. But this seems less relevant to the conclusion of the argument. Are the dormitories fee much less then houses outside campus? Do students have no chance to live in the College because of the lack of dormitories? If the dormitories fee is too high for students, the College may need to cut down budget in order to keep the fee down. If the dormitories are enough to accommodate all the students, then there is no need to build new dormitories.

Thirdly, the author asserts that new dormitories will attract more students. There is an unstated assumption that students will like the new dormitories more than old ones. However, it is not necessarily true. Maybe some famous people used to live in the dormitories, and students love to live in the old dormitories because they are attracted by the culture and history of the dormitories. In this case, new dormitories will not be more attractive to students. But if the old dormitories are so desolated and students will not have a convenient life living in the dormitories, then the author’s argument will be strengthened.

In sum, although it sounds reasonable that the College should build new dormitories, the argument above is not strong enough to support the conclusion.