Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleaant ville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This Argument concludes that , the Pleasantville school board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers of community service for that Pleasantville school board offered a program requiring students of Pleasantville high school to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.however in argument is not mentioned about why 40 hours of community service , it can be less so there is clear explanation about 40 hours so we can say there are many flaws in argument.

First of all, argument does not indicate about how they measure number of volunteers.however community service can not need for graduation. and It is possible that it can totally depend upon student whether they want to do community service or not.although there is not mentioned about interest of student in community service Before conclusion , means for completion of graduation there is need of community service has not mentioned at initialization.

Secondly, the author assume that Teacher and parents agree with decision of Pleasantville school for community service but in earlier there is not explanation about actually parents agree with decision or not whether it is possible that some of them might not agreed with decision of Pleasantville school.and author also assume that it is important for students to learn community service for better future but there is not clear justification for that.

Thirdly , the author cited that after community also helpful student worthy local charities service and also mentioned there is a need for help to worthy local charities and would also help people understand the importance of giving back their community bur there is possibility of that community could be handled by at school level there is not mentioned about why they need other local charities for volunteering activity.

Finally ,the argument claims that for completion of graduation student have to done 40 hours of community service prior that but not justify clearly about hours and it can less hours than mentioned in argument and mentioned bout giving back this is not justified. In conclusion,that author has not given enough evidence for support the claims and not clearly prove reason for student need community service and not provide enough evidence for assumption.