Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary.

The memorandum appearing above claims that, construction of new power generation plants is unnecessary as the current infrastructure is able to satiate the requirements. The author also argues that with the improvement in efficiency of appliances being used and the improvement in construction and design will further reduce this demand and the existing power stations will be able to support those demands in the future too. The author’s argument is based on a lot of assumptions which if are proven to be unwarranted may weaken the argument.

Firstly, the memorandum is based on a survey about which the author provides no further information. It is assumed the survey is has covered a sufficient sample size and the questionnaire is comprehensive enough for it to be considered a valid survey. The conclusions drawn from the survey are also based on the assumption that the participants are going to act upon the willingness to conserve energy in the near future. These, assumptions if proven wrong is weaken the author’s case to stay the construction of new power plants.

Furthermore, the memorandum claims that manufactures are marketing energy-efficient appliances and that better home insulation and passive solar heating options are available. This statement is used to imply that the power consumption will reduce or not increase based on the assumption that, all the residents in the area of service have or will adopt these changes. This premise assumes that all current installation will be replaced without taking into consideration the lifespan of the current installations.

Even if the assumption so far prove to be valid, the authors concluding remark is based on an assumption that may undercut the entire case built so far. The author states that with the increased energy efficiency in appliance and design improvements, the current power stations will be able to support the community for the foreseeable future. This is based on the assumption that the off-set due to increased energy efficiency is more than sufficient to accommodate new installations (residential, commercial, etc.) and stay within the limits of the current power generation capacity.

Therefore, in conclusion the argument set forth by the author is based on a lot of assumptions which, if proven to false may weaken the argument. If the author is able to prove the credibility of these assumptions then the argument can be further strengthened.