We can usually learn more from people whose views we share than from whose views contradict our own

The above statement asks us to examine the benefits and disadvantages of pitting our views against those who disagree with them. It would seem to be counter-intuitive to us but, we will more than often learn a lot more from people who disagree with us. This will usually take place through a lot of argument and debate, nevertheless there is a lot to be learned from those who contradict us.

One would find great comfort and ease in deliberating and discussing their ideas with those who share similar beliefs, it will often produce inferior results as compared to when one is willing to test their ideas against those who would disagree with them. The functioning of democracy relies on this principle, through debate two opposing parties examine various facets of the bill or policy in question. This often leads to the bill being examined in greater detail, resulting in a draft which covers a lot of factors which would have been otherwise overlooked if an insular approach had been adopted.

Academic debates which often lead to reshaping of global policies and resolutions to a lot of conflicts. These proceedings often involve two parties having opposing ideas to confront the other on their shortcomings, forcing each other to re-evaluate their stand on the issue and ultimately coaxing each other to acknowledge the factor that were neglected when the argument was formulated. Though one party either will lose the argument and to the layman it would seem as if it was nothing more than a brawl, those involved in the deliberations will always appreciate their counter-parts for pointing what had been lacking in their ideologies. They will often walk away wiser than when they had walked in.

Looking into the modern-day industry this is much more quantifiable. Due to technological advancements the present-day customer is empowered to alter the course of the industry than ever before. Manufacturers and Service providers willing to accept criticism and acknowledge competition and opposing ideologies will experience greater economic growth. For example, consider established auto-makers, a decade ago giants like Ford, Ferrari etc., would have been unwilling to consider the EV market to be a credible threat – today one would find these conglomerates investing large sums of capital on this and cashing in on these investments. Despite their conflicting ideas (Electric v/s Gas) they are willing to acknowledge their counterparts and more than willing to profit of it!!

Despite the principle of examining your ideas against those who would seem to be daunting in practice, we have to acknowledge the benefits of such a practice. As Sun Tzu would say “If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles.”, despite it being a straightforward idea masks a profound ideology. We would find an abundance of such instances as cited above if we look at the fields of sciences, business, academics etc. Hence, we can learn a lot from people whose views directly contradict our own rather than limiting ourselves to a selective group of people who share similar view as our own.