The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

The statement above would suggest that the character of the society as a whole is to be dictated by the actions of those the people choose as their heroes or role models. This is a maxim that I strongly agree with. Though it may seem that the above statement abolishes the idea of individual identity, it should be understood that the person in question that is being considered over here is a person with whom the majority identify themselves with based on their views on certain issues or values.

Looking at historic examples, Dr. Martin Luther king, Mahatma Gandhi, Nelson Mandela, these are some of the people who are widely recognized for their action against oppressive regimes during their time. Despite, these people being recognized by the communities who may have been much more polarized and aggressive in asserting their opinions, these leaders were characters with great moral fortitude and were able to not only successfully represent their communities but also influence values and character of these communities. So, we should understand that the recognized leader or role model is not only and refection of the society, but also has influence over the community itself.

Furthermore, we should also recognize that this role of representation can come from unexpected sources. A prime example would be, Greta Thunberg the 15-year-old Swedish climate activist, who is one of the most influential speakers on the topic now. This is a girl who was recognized by the community for her passion and dedication to fight for the same. If, we are to look closely to her action it is apparent that she understands the importance of her position the and has used to voice the concerns of the community unfettered by the action of large corporations and interest groups. This also reinforces the idea that individual identity is not being suppressed by holding one person accountable but rather it has been augmented by association.

Examining the idea presented here we can also interpret that the statement can be used to refer to a wide variety of people form recognized military personal to private citizens who have the ability to sway the public opinion one way or another due to certain actions in their past. This encompasses a large group of people who may not necessarily be the epitome of moral values or character and can be used to smear the reputation of the community. Therefore, we should limit our recognition of said representative to people who have weighed in on social and political issues that shape the society and hence are a good representation of the same.

In conclusion, it can be said that indeed that we the character of the society can be assessed by looking closely at the actions of the few that are chosen by the society to represent them. This holds true because, the relation between the community and the recognized works both ways i.e.; the community as a whole is represented by the leader/role model and the leader/role model is also able to influence the society.