Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Taking a cursory glance at the some of the most successful political systems today, the common man will often find himself confounded by the complex mechanization of these organizations. But on further inspections he would find himself faced with of the two facts; the entity in question is either willing to function in ways that may require it to accept some form of compromise, or it marches towards an abstract ideal often foisted upon the common man by the few in power. Though the latter may sometimes seem to be a noble endeavor, it is rarely an agreeable one. Looking at the annals of history it can be established that, for the betterment of the many, the goal of politics should be finding common grounds and reaching reasonable consensus.

Democracy, which is hailed one of the most successful political systems functions on this principle. The founding fathers of democracy in Athens intended it to be a platform where through debates and discussion a reasonable consensus could be achieved between both the extremes of the matter at hand. This allows the political system to cater towards the needs of the masses by, ensuring it is ground in the concerns of the common man and not heavily influenced by the powerful few.

This is further made evident when we closely examine the rules and laws that are passed in present day and age. There are a very few notable cases where policies fueled by the pursuit of abstract ideals have been able to survive the stringent vetting that would allow them to become laws. Looking at the most notable examples were the travel bans drafted by the current governing body in their early days with an extremely xenophobic attitude. It took less than a month to be revoked by the opposition. This demonstrates the fact the such extreme policies rarely see the light of day.

On the contrary, we can also the alternative offered to us by the philosopher Plato in the Republic. He sets forth a beautiful utopia fueled by the idea that the ruling few should rule with wisdom and humility acquired over the course of their lives. He asserts that the democratic set-up allowed for anyone to run for office and more than often, the person may not be qualified for the position. Despite this seeming to be an elusive ideal it seems to be a wonderful proposition yet, there are shortcoming which Plato refused to address. Such, and idealistic pursuit will stifle any breakthrough which otherwise emerge for passionate endeavors and would eventually collapse under its own weight.

Thus, to conclude we can say that any political system should be with a goal to finding common ground and to reach a reasonable censure, which will allow for the betterment of the masses. Though the allure of an elusive ideal may seem to be tempting it will more than often implode, this is can be seen look at autocratic rules like those of Hitler, Saddam Hussein and others who set forth along this path.