Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code re

The author argues here that all the colleges and universities should adopt the honor code in order to ensure the decline in cheating among the college student's. Stated in this way, the author fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. On a support of this argument, the author notes that, the groveton adopting the honor code-which calls for the students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify faculty members if they saw such a cheating- results in the successive decrease of cheating among the students. The author also cites a survey in which most of the students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. However, the careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides only a little credible support to the author's recommendation. Hence, the argument is incomplete.

First of all, the above argument relies on the assumption that the student's in the groveton are just as capable of detecting cheating as faculty members and that these students are as likely to report the cheating whenever they observe it. However, without any strong evidence to prove the capacity of these student's one cannot conclude that the honor code policy for declining the cheating among student's will always be successful. On contrary to this, an impartial faculty observer is more likely to detect and report cheating than a preoccupied student.

Moreover, the argument also assumes that during the five years period, the overall environment and the student's of the groveton are same. If the author's assumption is proved unwarranted, than, in these five years period, most of the new student's entering the college may be intelligent and more inclined towards gaining the knowledge than towards cheating. Thus, without ruling out such alternative explanations for the reported decrease, the author cannot convince me that the honor code has in fact contributed to decline in incidence of cheating in groveton.

Furthermore, the author points out that the recently conducted survey indicates the student's view of not cheating with an honor code than without that. To evaluate this claim, we need a evidence about if the survey is representative. If the sampling population is not large enough and the population are biased, then, the result of the survey does not reflect the contribution of honor code for the decline in cheating among the students and the result would not be conclusive. For this reason, the author's argument is weakened because the given supporting evidence is problematic.

To sum up, in order to evaluate the argument, we should ensure several assumptions; whether the survey is representative, do the honor code best helps reducing the cheating than that of the faculty observers?. Is applying similar policy of the groveton to the other colleges for reducing cheating successful?. Therefore, in its present form, the argument is flawed and unconvincing due to the lack of adequate evidence in a support of this claim.