“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The environmental protection group's petition has many unwarrented assumption which may leads to complete fall of their conclusion they drawn out.

The petition states taht despite The Smith Corporation is using small land to built hotel, it will bring disastrous consequences for their area. But, detrimental effect on Youngtown area and harm to Wildlife sancuary is not same thing. This is loophole can breakdown their argument of preserving bird species.

Even if they ment both are same thing, clarification regarding development of very small area despite ensuring sencuary preservation harming bird sentuary is not given. If building hotel required to cut tree, it may strengthen environmental group argument. However, not providing elaboration can also means that that small area may be arren and without any tree which may not bring an deleratious consewuences on bird sentuary.

Finally, The Smith Corporation is building hotel for tourist who will visit bird park to see diffenr species of birds. As a result, employment and business opportunity will increases which completely invalidate petition arguement of "there are no circumstances...this sale will benefit our community". Also, if this is true, tourist population may lead to better preservation of Youngtown Wildlife santuary beacause higher tourist means more income. This money can used to protect birds. If this is the case, petition first question on survival of bird falls appart.

In conclusion, to support and strenghen arguement, certain assumption need to clarify which may have better influence on residence.