“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

the argument says the smith corportation should not be allowed to build on a small part of the land as it will have disatrous effect on the natural wildlife sactuary and there is no be benefit to the community. This argument is flawed in a couple of ways as it is based on some assumptions.

Firstly, it states they if the corporation will use a small par of the land it will have disastrous effect on the land. this is based on the assumption that without that small part of the land to be used the sepcies of beds here will not survive or maybe the hotel will be given off terrible waste or other effects that will harm the species of birds there. They need to be clear on what they mean by disastrous effect. How exactly is ahotel going to have that level of effect. In what way exactly will the birds bye affected that it is defined as dissatrous. these needs to be clearly defined.

They also state that the hotel will not benefit the land in any way. This based on the assumption that the hotel will have no positive effect on the community in general. But is community relies on tourist who come to see the magnificicient bird collection. wont a hotel there actually benefit the community. A hotel in the community means more tourist will come because they are sure there is somewhere to stay. Also theyr stourtist may like the fact that the hotel is located so close to the bird sanctuary it may give them the feeling of living in nature with the birds. So the assumption that there si no benefit of the hotel is faulty because there will be indirect benefits to the community as it will bring more tourists.

There is also the assumption that the company's plans to assuage the effect of buiding the hotel in the sanctuary will not work. They need to clearly state what the plans of the the company are and why they think it will bring nothing but harm to the community. What does the community think of as harmful to the sancuary.

Since small perentage will be sold to the company how will this have distrous effect on the beds. Have the studied the birds closely to kow how they relate with their environment. Will the birds die? The need to further explain how a small piece of land will have disastrous effects on the 300 speieces of birds.

In conclusion the argument is flawed in assuming that the companies plan to preserve the sancutuarry will not not work withour giving us reasons why hey think it will not work, and also assuming that there will be no benefit of the hotel in the community as the community is relies on tourist and a hotel there will mean more tourist will come to the community