“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

I strongly support the petition of an environmental protection group against the plan of establishing a small hotel inside Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. Some aspects based on which I support environmentalists veto are descrbed below.

First of all, a sanctuary is a pristine place for flora an fauna. Some animals are sensitive to human interrruption. So, if a new hotel is built within the sanctuary, it can hinder the animals breeding process and their natural ecosystem as well.

Secondly, the statement states that the sanctuary is essential for the survival of 300 bird species which indicates the prime importance of protection of the wildlife sanctuary. The birds might be the most endengered birds and the last existing specicies of their kind. Human invading can be a catalyst to make those bird species endangered to non-existing bird species.

Additionally, the Smith Corporation wants to build a hotel which will attract many people. This serene sanctuary will soon turn into a crowdy, noisy place. Also when there will be a hotel, the intensity of vehicle movement will increase dramatically. Vibration, sound of vehicles may also disrupt the wildlife's natural way of living.

Moreover, during construction there will be a huge noise for days which might force the species to leave the sanctuary and it is uncertain that those species will survive after leaving their essential requirement of survival. Besides construction noise, after opening the hotel there will be a many working people, who might not afford living on the neighborhood. They will try to encroach the land which was not primarily included in the hotel area. This will surely disturb the bird species.

Above all, though it is not clear building hotel will be more beneficial that bird sighting, but the possibility is very high of declining wildlife of the Youngtown Wildlife Reserve.