A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

In this memo, the author contends that Seatown university should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors in order to enhance morale among the faculty and lure new professors. He or she cites as evidence to support his or her claims the findings of a study conducted at nearby Oceania University where professors are offered free tuition for their college-aged children. The reasoning of the argument is totally flawed as it is based upon unsubstantiated assumptions.

Firstly, the readers have no indication about the circumstances or any other factors in reference to the specific study conducted at nearby Oceania University. The author of the argument needs to provide much more accurate data about the aforementioned study, in order to accept its effectiveness and validity. Also, the fact that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition for their college-aged children does not ensure that no other elements have contributed to this result. Perhaps, there are rewarding programs inside the university or other sorts of bonus of productivity that have led to the increased retention. The writer should have stated that among all other factors studied, free tuition for the professors’ children was the only one that have contributed to the higher retention.

Additionally, the author too hastily assumes that Seatown University should also institute a free-tuition policy for its professors. The potential advantages of that policy in Oceania University, do not casual correlate to some similar positive results at Seatown University. Therefore, the author fails to establish an analogy between the two institutions, rendering the whole assumption as ambiguous that also lacks validity. He or she should have quoted detailed information about the ranks and organization charts of both universities in order to convince the audiences. For instance, if both of them have the same number of professors and faculty members, also how many students each of them has and even how much is the funding from the state.

Moreover, the concept that enhanced moral among the faculty and new lured professors will come as a result of the free-tuition policy is unwarranted as presented. Nothing ensures that people will swift attitudes in favor of a moral one inside the university and also there is no pertinent evidence that new professors will be eager to join Seatown University. The evidence as provided is scant and lacks substantiation. The author should have implied specific surveys and data that could lead to these two results. For example, statistics that strongly connect moral and free-tuition policies for the college-aged children of the professors in the universities. Apart from that, surveys and evidence that many new professors or even disappointed professors from other neighboring universities are looking for new job posts. The latter one could be conducted by the local job centers or the national institutions for education and employability affairs.

The argument is weak since neither is the conclusion sound, nor is the suggestion legitimate. Had there been substantial evidence, perhaps, the argument would have sounded more credible, but in its absence, it sounds indefensible.