The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

If the workers in any Company are getting some good benefits, it will definitely helps their efficiency and also encourage such company retain their workers for long. However, the claim that the retention of faculty Professors will be enhanced by offering free tuition at university for their own college aged-children is not substantiated with enough prooves, so this should not be welcome by the Seatown institute; unless some of the controversial questions are being answered.

Firstly, the study carried out in Oceania university alone, is not enough to substantiate the proof. Using a large number of universities as survey specimen, will help to know if this is exactly true, or it only happened by chance or other reasons in Oceania university. It could be that not collecting the Professor’s children tuition fee is not the only thing that the school is doing for their Professors, what if their salary is also encouraging, or they have good climate conditions ? Using just one school as an evidence is not enough.

Also, the Seatown institutes need to be wise and compare the Ocenia school with them, to know if they have the same favourable conditions. That is, they need to check if they are dealing with the same number of professors, for example Oceania university may only have twenty professors, whereas the Seatown institute is having sixty professors. Will they be able to sustain this, if they eventually start waiving the Professor’s children school fees, so that they do not at the end run into dept that will eventually cause their Professors to leave the school.

Researching sustainable factors that could help Seatown Institute to sustain their professors for long, will be of paramount help than to follow what Oceania Univerities are doing that may not eventually work for them.