In a study of the music listening preferences of Hollyland residents, conducted by the University

of Sunnyland, most respondents listed their favorite type of music as country. However, another

study indicated that, in Hollyland, the most frequently downloaded songs were all in the popular

music genre. Therefore, it can be assumed that the respondents in the initial study were not

truthful about their music listening habits.

The studies conducted both recently and in the past have an apparent discrepancy in the results. The past study highlights the preference of Hollyland residents towards popular music while the study by University of Sunnyland suggest it is actually country music. Due to this discrepancy of difference in change of taste in music of Hollyland residents, and due to the obvious flaws supporting that inclination to one type of music, the conclusion of the argument is deemed invalid.

The first flaw is the the arguments assertion that it is the old study that is correct while the new study is wrong. What is the backing evidence regarding this strong support for one particular study? Even if it is assumed that factually the old study is correct, we still do not have evidence behind the data collection that was conducted to justify the accuracy of the results. Statistics such as the sample population size, the actual number of downloads or even the standard deviation from each music type are absent from the argument. It could be possible that there were only 50 downloads on the website and 50% of those were from just one IP Address. Moreover, we do not even know of the application or webpage that supports that downloads, leaving the reader in state of confusion. There could also be other external factors that influenced the downloads, such as neighbouring towns; since the GPS cannot restrict to just Sunnyland explicitly. With this major flaw, it is necessary to provide factual data to make the point. Data for the downloads, registered downloads, and buffering out both random data and repeated data to obtain a proper set. A trend line could be observed which could be translated to a histrogram to observe the results clearly.

Another flaw in the argument is the lack of consideration of time. Time is an important factor when conducting studies. It could be possible that the old study was conducted in 1990 while the new study is conducted in 2019. This shift in time corresponds to a shift in at least one whole generation for example and anything can change over a period of time, including preferences. A Hollyland teenager today may wish to go back to his roots at present when compared to before when he was more interested in listening to what was on Billboard Hot 100. An alternative explanation for the time fallacy can also be the current boom of country music in the Hollyland. This could be possible through country artists frequently performing in Sunnyland, allowing the residents to change their preferences. The argument can be improved by clearing stating the date and time of when the research when conducted firstly. Next, the argument should outline why time changes is certainly not the case for change in preferences, through facts.

In conclusion, due to the fact the the studies do not match and there is no significant proof to suggest which study came first, the argument loses its assertion. Additionally, due to the time fallacy and the belief that the past study of downloaded music is correct, the argument becomes uncertain and leads the conclusion to be invalid.