All cities should devote at least five percent of their budgets to programs that preserve and protect existing parks.

Parks are generally a recreational region that allows communities to socialise, energize and grow together. Parks are certainly beneficial in the growth of a society as it leads to the growth of its citizens in terms of health, psychology and relaxation. However, parks can be considered a “comfort” to an extent as some developing cities may not be able to focus on park developments when facing other more significant problems. Even though, the absolute budget of a city is a crucial factor for park development, I agree with the statement if we are considering developed countries. As such, I believe developed countries should, at minimum, contribute five percent of their budget to support parks.

The major benefit of having parks in developed countries is the environmental benefit itself. By focusing on growing trees and preserving them, the city is essentially guaranteeing a safer future for the next generation. The world is currently engaged with a fierce battle with global warming, and a simple way to be victorious is to plant more trees. Clean air and purification of the atmosphere will then come along with the package of having a bucolic surrounding. The governance of Bangkok city has decided to tackle the current problem of massive air pollution in the city by establishing more parks. The officials believe that the minute dirt particles in the air can be put to the ground through the production of oxygen in the air through plants.

Besides the benefit to the environment itself, supporting parks will lead to the recognition among citizens of diversity in their city. Diversity may not necessarily refer to different cultures living together, but it can also mean different environments existing in one whole system. This apparent “regional diversity” will lead citizens to have an open-mind. They will have a variety to decide from, when they wish to explore the city. A civilisation certainly moves forward when a variety of options in the society are abundant. New York City, the international capital of the world, is considered diverse for many reasons. Its Central Park, along with the option of Times Square, allow New Yorkers as well as tourists to engage in multiple entertainment avenues. Life just becomes more exciting.

The supporting of parks is usually only feasible for developed countries as other countries will have other more important problems to solve. Pakistan may not consider parks to be a significant problem to solve in 2019 for example. The current major debt crisis in the country will cause the officials to focus on clearing the debt as soon as possible. They would, as a result, engage in economical maneuvers rather than employ their resources on comforts for the society.

In conclusion, the benefits of establishing and supporting parks are apparent. Environmental care along with a variety of entertainment options in the city leads a society to become more developed. However, this policy may be suitable to more developed countries due to their higher budgets in comparisons to poorer countries. As such, I support the policy asking for atleast a five percent portion given to parks and recreation in developed nations.