In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Publishers probably want to know from the researchers at the University why do the avid bookworms of Waymarsh pick a book? Which of their material is the most desired? What makes their curated copy fly of the shelves? The results from the University of Waymarsh’s studies seem inconsequential. These voracious readers of Waymarsh should be questioned further and their literary habits delved into deeper so that the results of the University’s study can be better analyzed.

Many questions arise about the format of the research study conducted by the University of Waymarsh. How many categories of literature were asked about? Were mystery novels even included as subject query material? The results of the University’s study could easily be discredited if a large portion of Dewey’s (of the famous decimal system) range or subject matter was not queried to the Waymarshians. Another question that must be asked is how vast is the Waymarsh Library System’s collection? Are we dealing with a cornucopia of tomes that rivals the great Library of Alexandria or are we talking about a library with a small budget that relies on donations. This leads the researchers to ask questions about the socio economic and educational breakdown of the citizenry of Waymarsh. Obviously it is a college town so there are a good deal of the population who hold advanced degrees, but is this indicative of the rest of the populace? If a majority of the citizens of Waymarsh do not hold advanced degrees than the results of the study seem more straight forward. That is, of course the mystery novel, which is often held to a lesser standard, is prized over the literary classic which our old professors and English teachers placed on a pedestal.

Without even performing a census on the citizens of Waymarsh the results of the two studies are predictable. It is not unsurprising that during a formalized University study, that many respondents stated their preference for literary classics. In the face of a PhD trained researcher, I too would subconsciously express my reading habits as more cosmopolitan. Those Waymarshians surveyed probably dug back into their college literary courses and extolled the virtues of Dickens, while Harry Potter was the currently sitting on their bedside table at home. Mystery novels, are often considered by society as literary works of lesser ambition, but they remain remarkably popular. They are a bookworms guilty pleasure. A similar phenomenon occurs in election exit polling. Many will say they voted for the candidate who has better public perception, however the less liked candidate, for whatever reason, will come out on top with more votes. This is a mirror of what we see in the University’s study, the penchant for a literary classic is expressed, even though it is not the research participants true literary bread and butter.

If the studies done at the University were contextualized by the socioeconomics and demographics of the town their results could be more clearly and thoughtfully interpreted. Further, if a wider range of questioning was applied to the readers of Waymarsh, perhaps more honest and articulate results would become of the research effort at the University.