Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Society today requires students who have matriculated from their university to be well rounded as well as an expert in a field of study. However, if students only focus on courses within their major, they will not enter the work place with the fundamental skills needed to excell. Students should be required to take a core group of general education classes along with the courses within their intended field of study.

Most jobs these days require a basic knowledge of the fundamentals in other fields of study. For example, a marketing professional can not fully exact their knowledge of advertising if they do not understand the basic tennants of economics. Understanding how to target and sell to certain groups requires a knowledge of how money and society work together. If a marketer can grasp when a product is in demand seasonally, they can more effectively place their ads throughout the year to achieve the highest amount of sales. Additionally, if you seek to become a marketing professional, you need to have an understanding of current events. Current events contextualize the world we live in, which is essential knowledge to an advertiser. Understanding history will factors deeply into how these current events are being received by society. For example, if an advertising professional understands how recent elections affected the country's zeitgeist he/she could make the decision not to market a certain product during that election because of product association with a particular candidate. A marketing professional who has had some university course work in economics and history will see more success in their advertising campaigns and therefore enjoy a more fruitful career.

Taking a core group of general education studies often proves to be a neccessary compliment to one's main course of study. Consider the rigors of a curriculum in medicine. While doctors have to complete some of the most intense and arduous courses of study, if they do not take humanities, their expertise about the human body can not be applied. Doctors, like the marketing professional, should be able to grasp human feeling and emotions in order to excell in their fields. A doctor who has taken a sociology and psycology courses will grasp a better understanding of humanity by knowing how human beings react to various situations. Often doctors have to deliver tough news to their patients. Knowing how to deliver this news with tact and grace can be the difference between a pateient following the suggested course of treatment or accepting the defeat of their diagnosis. A doctor with a training in the humanities will be better suited to delivering news in delicate situations.

It can be said that taking courses that are extracurricular to a main course of study will cause a student to waste extra time while in university. This extra time in universtiy means extra tuition as well as all of the other associated costs of being a student (room and board, etc.). However, general education courses provide the complimentary tools needed to support an expert understanding of a particular field. Graduating students who complete a core group of general education classes are best suited to enter the work place and pursue rewarding carreers.