Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is said that when a society produces art, civilization is at its peak. However, what happens when we consider the dark times a nation will endure. Does art help a society during the hardest times, such as a war or an economic downfall? It almost always ends up being in a nation’s best interest to continue to support the arts even during the toughest of times. Suspending funding for the arts during economic downturns is shortsighted and can actually harm a nation's citizens and economy.

When citizens are going hungry and unemployment is high, it is usually the result of many negative extraneous factors. A recession or even a depression can be the culmination of several ill made policy decisions and perhaps some bad luck. However the arts provide solace to a nation’s people during these hard times. During World War II, historians noted that for many who stayed home, the highlight of their weeks was their trip to the movies. At the picture shows, as they were called in those days, an audience could get lost in a story and momentarily forget the horrors and atrocities that were occuring an ocean away. This weekly reprieve from the horror of being a citizen in a nation at war was much needed therapy and proved to help the morale of those helping the war effort on the homefront. Additionally, the War Department prefaced the movie with news from the front lines, which kept the citizenry in the know about the current status of the fight. Often the news and the subject matter of the movies themselves was highly propagandized and served to reinforce nationalism and patriotism. Lastly, certain social programs and campaigns were championed before and during the movies. Part of the war bond program’s success has been attributed to the mass messaging that occured in our nation’s cinemas.

Another misconception about funding the arts is that it is money pits. On the contrary, the arts support and encompass entire industries. Hollywood and its production of films provide the economy many jobs. Set designers require carpenters and metalworkers and electricians who are artists in their own way. Public art installations can employ wide swaths of professionals from architects to civil engineers. However if a nation severs its funding of the arts, it won’t have the sculptors and painters and mass media artist to originate the ideas that can employee so many professionals in their construction. It is in the nation’s best interest to keep as many people employed as possible during the hard times; that is how economists say a nation pulls itself up by the bootstraps and rise out of a depression. An example of this that worked to great avail was many of the live action theaters built around the country during Roosevelt’s New Deal. Many of the country’s great art deco frescos and grand gathering places for the arts employed many artists in their construction!

Often fiscal conservatives will argue that during a depression, social programs need to be prioritized and often the arts are one of the first programs to have their public funding stymied. There is some basic economic truths to these prioritization principles, simply put, more funds can be diverted to food programs and a lesser portion of the populace will go hungry. However, as it has been shown from our nation’s economic downturns in the 20th century, cutting funding to arts programs is short sighted and just ends up with less opportunities for all. The arts are a pan industry pursuit that requires members from all across society to execute.

During the hardest times in a nation, an economic depression or a war, it is in the nation’s best interest to fully fund the arts as art ends up returning the favor by stimulating an economy.