SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

While the author of this paragraph may, in fact, believe that SuperCorp is a fantastic company that is able transform the community of Corporateville, this argument is subjective, and perhaps more importantly, logically is not sound. There are many holes in this argument.

The comparison between Middlesburg and Corporateville is subjective and the argument untidy. What exactly makes a community better than another? Many citizens may beleive that a suburban life is ideal, yet conversely, many others may believe that a urban life is better. Whoever wrote this argument automatically discounts that personal preference does not equate to superiority. This sort of blind subjectivity does not make for a strong argument. Though its workers may perfer to live in an area that is not urban, Middlesburg may have its own set of perks, or a certain pastiche, which another company prefers. Personal preference is subjective, not objective.

What makes an area superior? Lower taxes does not always equate to a town a la Pleasantville. Lower taxes is not a zero sum game. This argument overlooks netagive attributes of lower taxes such as low-resource schools, broken infrastructure, and an overall decline of public needs. Degredation of essential needs such as education can have a negative effect in the long term. For example, the lack of quality education can, in the not-too-distant future, engender communities that have little to offer society. Idle hands, so the saying goes, turn towards the devil's work - crime, burglary - unhealthy for a prosperous society. There is potentai that a lower-taxed community may have negative impacts in the future. Higher taxes, while may appear to be personally beneficial in the short-term, provide public goods and services that are needed to maintain a pleasant atmosphere.

A recent surge in homeowners can be attributable to many factors. Perhaps a healthy economy equiped with low interest rates lends itself to an increase in housing development. But this fact alone does not mean that Corporateville is superior. While there may be many new houses, there could be many negative attribtes to Corporateville. Readers are not told its location, if it isolated and far removed from airports or other cities. Middlesburg may have more amenties, convenience, and social interaction.

There could be other reasons why SuperCorp decided to locate in Corporateville, unrelated to taxes. Perhaps the proxcimity to shipping distributors or this particular city put in the highest bid.

There are many assumptions within the argument. Nonsequitors litter the paragraph and weaken its argument.