SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

The argument presented in the passage is effectively a cost benefit analysis, but with basically no attention paid to the costs, and very little to the quantification of either. There is no discussion of the costs of moving to either the corportation or its employees, whether the relationship between taxes and cheapness or safety is substantiated and whether homeownership is really the correct quality by which to judge a city's superiority. The argument rests on these points, each of which rests on assumptions made by its author which are not supported.

The central assumption underlying this argument is that the benefits of the move, no matter how well substantiated, outweigh the costs. But nowhere in the statement is there an elucidation of the costs of moving Supercorp's headquarters. Moving has costs for both the firm and its employees. Those costs range from the most direct, like moving boxes and trucks, to more pernicious forms, like broken friendships and halved school years for the children of employees. It is entirely possible to grant that Corporateville is superior to Middlesburg in every way but still believe that the very substantial costs of moving exceed the benefits of doing so. The argument could be improved substantially by trying to explain ways in which the company made those costs less significant, or simply by quantifying their magnitude so that the reader could try to judge for themselves whether the assumed benefits are worth it. This statement does neither.

Granting that the benefits are real is not substantiated either, however. Like wieghing the benefits and costs of the move, the benefits and costs of homeownership and renting need to be weighed if increased homeownership is presented as a benefit. While homeownership may have tax advantages and act as a form of savings through buiulding equity, renting can be just as beneficial if the price is right. Renters don't have to deal with repair costs and are not on the hook for large sums of money if the economy turns sour. Beyond that, the argument implies that the increase in homeownership in Corporateville is related to the move (i.e. that Corporateville employees are buying homes). This isn't a safe assumption either. The rise in homeownership could be due to other businesses moving in, changes int he macroeconomic climate or even just purchases by people who already lived in town. Strengthening this portion of the argument would require some comparison of the costs of buying in Corporateville vs. renting in Middlesburg, and possibly a before and after the move survey of homeownership rates by SuperCorp employees.

There is a lot left to be desired by the argument's last point as well. It posits a relationship between low taxes and low crime, as well as between low taxes and low costs. The former is particularly strange, and it's easy to imagine the opposite effect bieng true: more taxes allow better police which lower crime. At the very least, the author must provide some kind of empirical backing for that claim. The latter seems more tenable as taxes more directly lead to higher costs. Even then, they also lead to higher levels of public goods. By their very nature, public goods like roads, education or utilities will be underprovisioned without tax subsidies. It is entirely possible, with the evidence provided by the argument, to assume that Middlesburg has a closer to optimal level of public goods, or even that it provides them more efficiently than Corporateville, making up for their additional costs. The argument presented would be well served to provide some kind of quantitative measures which compare the two towns' governments, like school rankings or road quality.

At its core, the argument lacks any kind of comparison or quantification of costs to benefits. This is evident in the way it only lists the benefits of the move, its assumption that homeownership is preferable to renting and that its employees are purchasing those homes, and that lower taxes mean lower crime and a less expensive city. Each of these are claims that the benefit of a difference between Corporateville and Middlesburg outweighs the potential cost. Each side of that hypothesis might be quantifiable, and therefore falsifiable.