SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

With its decision to move their home base from Middlesburg to Corporateville, SuperCorp attempts to justify this choice in many flawed ways. They cite many reasons for carrying out this action, including the superiority of Corporateville over Middleburg, the overall town-type preference of employees, and lower taxes in Corporateville. However, all of these reasons are backed up fallacies that are a result of flaws in logic, and thus SuperCorp's decision to move to Corporateville may not actually be as sound a decision as they believe.

One of the assumptions that SuperCorp has made based on their move to Corporateville is that it is a superior town compared to Middlesburg because of the face that the number of homeowners in Corporateville has increased. SuperCorp relies on their own causation to make this statement, because it is possible that this increased number of homeowners is from their own employees. It is a statement made in a retrospective viewpoint, and thus cannot be taken for fact. Along with this, the increased number of homeowners in Corporateville could also be caused by other factors besides SuperCorp's move to the town. Furthermore, this assumption also relies on equating town superiority to the number of homeowners. This relationship begs the argument of quantity versus quality, and it is not proven to be useful measure of the quality of a town.

Another assumption that SuperCorp makes in their argument is that their, "workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban". Though they prove this with a survery conducted at their corporation, it cannot be used to justify their move to Corporateville. Their employees have said they do not want to live in an urban setting, but that does not mean they prefer to live in the setting if Corporateville. This argument does not explicitly state what kind of town Corporateville is, so it could be possible that the SuperCorp employees would have actually preferred another town instead. To improve this survey and the argument based off it, SuperCorp should have asked its employees what specific town they would like to live in or ask explicitly what type of town or city they prefer.

Lastly, in their argument SuperCorp states that Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, which makes it a safer and cheaper place to work in. This statement makes two incorrect assumptions in that lower taxes equates to a safer town and a lower cost of residency. There needs to statistics to show that a town is safer and it costs less to live in than others based on concrete data. It is highly possible that higher taxes could actually mean more safety, because those extra tax dollars could be put toward security measures. Furthermore, lower taxes does not necessarily mean it is cheaper to live in a town because there are other expenses that residents need to pay that could make the cost of living equal or higher than other towns. This could include higher insurance rates and higher mortgages. All of this shows that SuperCorp should have number-based evidence that takes a holistic approach to the actual benefits of living in Corporateville, rather than making flimsy comparisons to Middlesburg.

A new headquarters could spur a new era of flourishment for a company, as SuperCorp would probably want for themselves. But this could only happen if the new location of the company is actually more beneficial. SuperCorp believes that Corportateville is the answer because it is believed to be better due to its higher number of homeowners, non-urban setting, and lower taxes. However, SuperCorp fails to have true justification for these reasons, and thus it is possible that relocating to Corporateville is not the best decision.