SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed because of the numerous reasons mentioned below. SuperCorp recently changed its headquarters to Corporateville on the notion that it's a better place to live in than Middlesburg, but the argument makes certain assumptions without providing the enough evidences.

The argument says that there is a recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville, hence it's a good place to live in. But the fact that the recent surge in the number of homeowners might depend on a lot of factors like lets say the town might be providing a lot of employment opportunities or lets say the housing might be cheaper over there, but it clearly doesn't indicate that the surge in the number of homeowners is because its a better place to live in.

The argument says that as per an employee survey, SuperCorp ha determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. It doesn't clearly indicate what is the result of the survey, or what percentage of people don't like to live in urban area.

The argument also says that since Corporateville has lower taxes its not only a safer place but also a cheaper place. First of all the argument assumes that Corporateville is a safer place to work with no clear evidences to support this claim. Also the argument doesn't mention what are the factors they are considering in order to decide that the city is cheap. A city may be cheap in terms of taxes but then housing cost might be expensive making it an expensive city.

Overall the agrument doesn't clearly provide the evidence for its claims. Hence Supercorp's decision wasn't a good one!! May the force be with Supercorp.