In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While the author’s intentions of cleaning up the river and increasing its use for water sports seem very worthwhile, there may be some assumptions that need further examination before the city government devotes more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Firstly, the author seems to assume that the water quality and the smell of Mason River are the chief reason for its rarely being used for swimming, boating and fishing. This may not be the case. If the river is a shallow one with rapids that is suitable only for rafting, swimming might not be a possibility. If that is the case, then taking care of water quality and smell will not make it suitable for swimming. It would still be unsafe because of the nature of the river course and the water flow through it. Similarly, if this is a river that simply lacks fish, then apart from improving the water quality, it might also need to be restocked with fish. Finally, if there are sandbars in the river, then boating will not be possible even if the river is cleaned. Indeed, if the river is rarely used for boating, the reasons for that lack of use may lie in other factors since other fairly heavily polluted rivers around the world (the Thames, for example) are used for boating notwithstanding. This suggests that the author needs to look elsewhere for the reason why Mason River is not used for boating, for example.

Further, he seems to have pinned his hopes for revival of water sports on the mere announcement by the state of plans to clean up the river. This, however, may not guarantee that the river will indeed be successfully cleaned. The state may have good intentions, but even if they go ahead as planned, one wonders whether they have taken into account the sources of pollution and how easy or complex it will be to deal with. After all, cleaning up a river is not a mere question of pouring a chemical into it, sewage treatment may plants need to be set up or expanded in capacity. If the run off into the river is chemical in nature (proceeding from local factories, for example) this may require special processes to deal with and store those effluents. A key assumption, seems to be that the problems of pollution in Mason River have been adequately understood and that the plans and funding envisioned by the state are sufficient to resolve them.

Finally, there is the author’s assertion that the city government should devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities. This assumes that there is some deficiency in this regard. But is there? Perhaps, once the river is cleaned up, the existing facilities will be adequate. Further, what does the author mean by riverside facilities and would those be what is required for swimming, fishing, or boating. Also, the assumption is the provision of facilities would promote the pursuit of all three sports. But it is possible that providing facilities for one sport might interfere with the pursuit of the other. So, larger docks might promote an increase in boating, but it might also interfere with swimming in the river and the consequent increase in boat traffic might also restrict fishing. Before funding is provided such issues need to be looked into.

Thus, while the author’s intentions seem good, certain complexities may need to be adequately tackled before his vision becomes a reality.