In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument assumes that Mason river had been abandoned and not in use for recreational centre because it stinks. The argument therefore use this as a petition/proposal to the Government to invest in cleaning the river water. However, the Government investing into this project would not have been questionable if there are enough reasonable evidence to support this assumption.

The Wason river could have been smelling and abandoned due to some environmental factors, for instance the water area could be releasing some toxic substances into the water, like much surphur. Therefore Government investing in cleaning the water would eventually be a waste, because sooner or later the water will go back to its stinking state. The environment factors needs to be put in place before even considering what to do to the water.

Moreso, the claim that the sports that need water area are more unique and greatly practised by the people is not given. What happens when money is deposited into the project and the people of the area did not eventually use it, because they have other favourites recreations they do. The people can love football and at the same time love swimming, they can choose to playball everyday and not swim everyday because of the changes in climatic factors. Putting Government resources in what the people have alternatives for, will not be a good thing to do, instead the money can be use for another pressing needs.

Cleaning the water is not a bad idea, but we have to ensure that after doing it, it will not lead to another issue that will affect the environment. For example what if the water is cleaned and it increase the inhabitation of animals that lives in water and therefore put the lives of anyone that go to recreate there in danger. A more resereved place would have been better or preferred by people in the environment. If the main purpose of cleaning the water is for recreation, the claim/assumption is not enough to substanciate the conclusion.