In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the essay the author has come to the conclusion that the state’s recent plan to clean up Mason River will increase the use of the river for water sports and also the government should increase its budget for the riverside facilities. This is premised from a survey conducted among residents of Mason City of which they ranked water sports among their favourite recreational activities. The author’s claims relies on assumptions that are not supported by compelling evidence which makes for a weak argument.

To begin with the survey, the author reports city resident’s love for water sports. It is not clear however the scope and validity of the survey. Could it be that only residents around the river that were surveyed. Or residents were asked to choose between a having a dam built on the river or water sports of which they were swayed by the water sports. The survey could have been dedicated to only 2 games, water sports or indoor games. Perhaps, residents choice of watersports as their favourite game is because they love to watch the game and not actively participate. We just do not know. Unless the survey is fully representative, valid and reliable, it cannot be used to support the author’s arguments.

Secondly, the assumption that the use of the river will increase after the clean up cannot be determined yet. If the river’s quality and smell results from problems which can be cleaned, this may be true. For example, if the decreased water quality is caused by the pollution of factories along the banks of the river, then this may be remedied. However, if the quality and smell is caused by the mineral deposits and life in the water, then there is little that can be done about the situation. A clean-up would not affect this situation. Consequently, a clean up will not guarantee an increased usage of the river.

Finally, the author suggests that the government should devote more money in this year’s budget to the riverside recreation facilities with the assumption that the government has adequate money in its budget to support this project without considering the other projects of the state.

In conclusion, the author’s argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed in his desire to have an increased budget for riverside facilities. His arguments does not justify to request. If the author is able to give further evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to increase the spending on the facilities.