In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports swimming boating and fishing among their favorite recreational activities The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits however and the city park department devotes little of i

The problem with the arguement is the assumption that if the Mason River were cleaned up, that people would use it for water

sports and recreation. This is not necessarily true, as people may rank water sports among their favorite recreational activities,

but that does not mean that those same people have the financial ability, time or equipment to pursue those interests.

However, even if the writer of the arguement is correct in assuming that the Mason River will be used more by the city's

residents, the arguement does not say why the recreational facilities need more money. If recreational facilities already exist

along the Mason River, why should the city allot more money to fund them? If the recreational facilities already in existence

will be used more in the coming years, then they will be making more money for themselves, eliminating the need for the city

government to devote more money to them.

According to the arguement, the reason people are not using the Mason River for water sports is because of the smell and the

quality of water, not because the recreational facilities are unacceptable.

If the city government alloted more money to the recreational facilities, then the budget is being cut from some other important

city project. Also, if the assumptions proved unwarranted, and more people did not use the river for recreation, then much

money has been wasted, not only the money for the recreational facilities, but also the money that was used to clean up the

river to attract more people in the first place.