In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports swimming boating and fishing among their favorite recreational activities The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits however and the city park department devotes little of i

The author of this proposal to increase the budget for Mason City riverside recreational facilities offers an interesting argument

but to move forward on the proposal would definitely require more information and thought. While the correlations stated are

logical and probable, there may be hidden factors that prevent the City from diverting resources to this project.

For example, consider the survey rankings among Mason City residents. The thought is that such high regard for water sports

will translate into usage. But, survey responses can hardly be used as indicators of actual behavior. Many surveys conducted

after the winter holidays reveal people who list exercise and weight loss as a top priority. Yet every profession does not equal a

new gym membership. Even the wording of the survey results remain ambiguous and vague. While water sports may be among

the residents' favorite activities, this allows for many other favorites. What remains unknown is the priorities of the general

public. Do they favor these water sports above a softball field or soccer field? Are they willing to sacrifice the municipal golf

course for better riverside facilities? Indeed the survey hardly provides enough information to discern future use of improved

facilities.

Closely linked to the surveys is the bold assumption that a cleaner river will result in increased usage. While it is not illogical to

expect some increase, at what level will people begin to use the river? The answer to this question requires a survey to find out

the reasons our residents use or do not use the river. Is river water quality the primary limiting factor to usage or the lack of

docks and piers? Are people more interested in water sports than the recreational activities that they are already engaged in?

These questions will help the city government forecast how much river usage will increase and to assign a proportional increase

to the budget.

Likewise, the author is optimistic regarding the state promise to clean the river. We need to hear the source of the voices and

consider any ulterior motives. Is this a campaign year and the plans a campaign promise from the state representative? What is

the timeline for the clean-up effort? Will the state fully fund this project? We can imagine the misuse of funds in renovating the

riverside facilities only to watch the new buildings fall into dilapidation while the state drags the river clean-up.

Last, the author does not consider where these additional funds will be diverted from. The current budget situation must be

assessed to determine if this increase can be afforded. In a sense, the City may not be willing to draw money away from other

key projects from road improvements to schools and education. The author naively assumes that the money can simply appear

without forethought on where it will come from.

Examining all the various angles and factors involved with improving riverside recreational facilities, the argument does not

justify increasing the budget. While the proposal does highlight a possibility, more information is required to warrant any action.