Claim Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system Reason Laws cannot change what is in people s hearts or minds Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason

There are so many problems in our daily lives. We have to acknowledge that laws and legal system can help address various problems, such as murder, robbery or evasion of taxes. We have laws helping us determine the punishment given to a criminal according to what he has done. However, there are also lots of problems which are not easily solved with laws and the legal system, many of which do not have some widely accepted answers.

Not all the things are either correct or wrong. There are many problems related to family or love, which complicate all those involved, and it is difficult to use simple clauses to fully address the problem. For example, for a newly married couple who have just finished a day of heavy work and get back home, when it comes to who should be in charge of washing clothes and cleaning the house, there is no correct answer. And it is also impossible to use laws or the legal system to find an answer. They are both extremely tired, but in order to maintain a warm home and a stable love, they have to force themselves to do the housework. This is something related to moral, not laws. There are many other similar problems, such as whether one should lend his/her best friend money, whether to give some extra bread to hungry and homeless tramps and so on.

Even if the problem itself has a widely accepted solution or answer, we still cannot expect to use the laws to solve all such problems. The law is quite limited. The length is limited and finite. However, there are infinite problems in our daily lives. If we were able to solve any problems with the legal system, we would not need to do so many revision and modification to the laws.

However, laws can change what is in people's minds. We are all familiar with the laws against sex and racial discrimination, and these laws indeed help people to be more impartial when it comes to these problems. Without the laws against slavery, this cruel system may be still active nowadays and people may still regard it as rational and correct.