In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Even if Mason City Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities, the author doesn't put together a compelling argument for City government to increment the budget for riverside recreational facilities. Author's arguments are equivocal and contains many loop holes and thus could undermine a strong case for budget increase.

Firstly the survey which Author refers to is very vague. There could be other activities that residents might have chosen as favorites in addition to water sports. Those other activities may be more convenient and feasible all year around as compared to water sports, thus resulting in low usage of Mason River for water sport purposes. Also the validity of survey is obscure as to whether the survey takers were mostly riverside residents or other Urban population was also included. Urban population might not be that much into water sports as compared to riverside residents. Hence authentication & validation of survey from an independent organization is a must before making an argument for budget increase.

Moreover assumption of the river quality as the major factor for less use of Mason River for water sports also seems somewhat stretched. There is no mention to any kind of research studies or references or stats that show river quality inapt for water sports. Therefore assuming States efforts of river cleaning will lead to much increase in water sports is not correct and therefore cannot be used as a strong argument for monetary increment of Mason City's budget towards riverside recreational facilities.

Furthermore not sure how much success will State be able to achieve in river cleaning goal itself as there could be many many factors involved like environment, near by industries etc etc..There could be environmental related flora & fauna contributing to the river's bad quality & smell. These environmental factors might not let the river cleaning act to succeed much. Same when thinking about near by industries. Their contribution to the river quality needs to be studied thoroughly and could be very time consuming to bring any change in the industries. Hence assuming feasibility of river cleaning as yes seems farfetched in itself.

Also implication of increase in water sports after river cleanup is not backed by facts. Will there be significant increase in water sports? or just minute increase which would mean diverting funds towards riverside recreational areas unnecessary.

All these issues and aspects would have to be dealt with, to lobby a strong case for increase of City's budget towards riverside recreational areas.